Shimla, the hill district of Himachal Pradesh came into form only on the 1st September 1972, comprising the erstwhile Shimla state, a part of then Mahasu district; the hill areas of Patiala state; 19 other adjoining small hill states and the areas of kotkhai kothgarh, Shimla town , jutogh cantonment which were included in the district at different stages.



A quaint little hill train chugs up into the Shivalik foothills, overdramatic loops, and high arched bridges to the hill resort of Shimla (2130km)  – the capital of mountain state of Himachal as the headquarters of the district. Shimla was one of a string of hill stations that the British established to escape from the scorching heat of plains.the 12 km crescent shaped ridge on which it is located was first occupied by the British troops, in 1864, during the Anglo-Gurkha War.the little village of shymala, a retreat British officer,soon grew to become the glamorous summer capital of the British, in India.

Shimla’s salubrious climate, easy accessibility, and numerous attractions have made it one of the most popular hill stations in northern India. The splendid views of the snow-clad ranges of the Himalayas fine walk through oak and flowering rhododendron, enchanting resorts within easy reach, golf at Naldehra and skiing at Kufri and Narkanda make Shimla an attractive destination throughout the year.

Places of Interest

  1. Mall road
  2. Scandal point
  3. Viceregal Lodge
  4. Himachal State Museum
  5. Jhaku Hill
  6. Annadale
  7. The Glen
  8. The Summer Hill
  9. Chadwick falls
  10. Prospect Hill
  11. Sanjauli
  12. Kufri
  13. Mashobra
  14. Naldehra
  15. Narkanda
  16. Chaupal